When is hope lost? Is it ever lost? What is hope?

Posted: April 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

I got off work around 4 am and  took a small putt back to the neighborhood from the job site, I minister at a gas station and so far it has been pretty receptive. I ran into a biker , not literally, who started a small conversation with me. I found out that his son may be looking at ten years at the young age of 20. I will not go any further than that in order to keep confidentiality, how ever this man sounded as though all hope was lost. Thus the title of this article and a question asked by many , when is hope lost, is it ever lost, and what is hope? These questions are common and as Christians we must know how to answer them in a biblical way, know what the signs are for someone who has lost hope, and really know what hope is. We will start with what hope is in definition and theology and then turn to see if we can find it in the bible. I think we will find hope in the bible under biblical terms and see what it says. Then I will give you the best description I have ever heard on what hope is.

Here are the sources I will be using to explain this. The New Webster’s Library of Practical Information, and the King James Version of the bible which is the only one I use for most of my articles.

According to our dictionary it is defined as  a confident expectation  that a desire will be fulfilled.

In a way we could probably parallel this with faith in a biblical sense , let’s see, it is defined as trust or complete acceptance, so in a way it could be  similar in statue but still hold a different definition as a whole depending on the context it is used in.

faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God in hopes that through faith our prayers are answered, in which case they always are just not always the way WE want. Hope ever it  is answered.

The bible says  Romans 8:25 says  but if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience  wait for it.

We continue through the trials of life with perseverance and with patience eagerly awaiting the Lord to fulfill our every expectation.

Hope in my opinion is never lost, it is sometimes what I would say put in remission, or on the back burner if you will for another time,but it is never lost totally maybe forgotten but not lost. So it is not lost at all.

We have defined hope and discussed wether it is lost or not and I have given my opinion. Here is the theology, Hope is the knowledge that tomorrow will be better than today. That is awesome to me.

I hope that none of this is taken out of context and that it is fully understood that I am not just waiting for the lord to do for me and there for not do anything or give him anything to work with.

In my opinion it is like the military, you gotta give your drill instructors something to work with, you don’t just show up and say make me a soldier, you have to follow what they say as we must do the same for the Lord. Remember faith with out works is dead. Which means we don’t sit and say oh the Lord will do this that or the other we must put things into motion and if it is God’s plan you are following it will be blessed, if not he will show you where he wants you.

Until next time as always keep the rubber side down and may God richly pour out the blessings of heaven upon you.

Rambo

 

Comments
  1. terry1954 says:

    u r an awesome writer!

Leave a Reply

